Introduction to Indian Musical Instruments

Indian musical instruments are divided into four categories:

1. ‘Tut’ Instruments
2. ‘Sushir’ Instruments
3. ‘Avnudh’ Instruments &
4. ‘Ghan’ Instruments

These categories also exist in Western Music.
1. ‘Tut’ Instruments: The ‘stringed instruments’ are known as ‘Tut’ Instruments’. These instruments use one or more strings to create sound. These are further divided into two sub-categories:

a. Plucked instruments: such as Sitar, Veena, Srode, Taanpura, Guitar etc.
b. Bowed instruments: such as Sarangi, Esraj, Violin etc.

2. ‘Sushir’ Instruments: These are the ‘wind instruments’. Such as Flute, shehnai, Been, Clarinet, saxophone etc.
3. ‘Avnudh’ Instruments: These are the instruments that have heads made from animal skin. Such as Tabla, Dhole, Pkhavaj, Dejambe etc. Mostly these are rhythmic instruments.
4. ‘Ghan’ Instruments: These are the instruments that create a note (musical sound) by hitting something with hammer or stick. You may call them tuned percussions too. Such as Jal trung, Munjeera, Kartaal, Vibraphone etc. > Music Theory > Musical Instruments

One thought on “Introduction to Indian Musical Instruments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *